Civil Service Examination (CSE) is a national examination by the UPS Commission for those candidates who are interested in the civil service of the Govt. Of India including the IAS/IFS/IPS/IRS etc.


Key Highlights of Civil Service Examination

  • Exam Name: Civil Service Exam (CSE)
  • Exam Level: National Level 
  • Conducting Body: Union Public Service Commission
  • Exam Mode: Offline.
  • Age: The age of candidates must have to be 21 years.


  • Candidates must have to be an Indian.
  •  Candidates have a citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan.

Educational Qualification

  • Candidates who qualified from a central state, state, or deemed university.
  • Candidates who qualified from distance education.
  • Candidates who qualified from an open university.
  • Candidates who have to pursue the final year of ICAI/ICSI/iCWAI.
  • Candidates must be a citizen of India who is interested in IAS/IPS/IFS. 

Number Of Attempts

Civil Service Examination based on categories:

  • General Category: 6 Attempts 
  • OBC category: 9 Attempts 
  • Sc/St: Unlimited Attempts until 37 years of age.


The Civil Service examination conducted 2 papers: Paper-I and Paper-II.

Paper-I General Studies: 

In Paper-I syllabus will be such as: Indian National Movement, Geography, Basic Economics Understandings, Indian Polity.   

Paper-II Aptitude Test:

In Paper-II syllabus will be such as: Mathematics, Reasoning, Analytical Ability and Interpersonal skills.